Our structure

The Fire and Emergency New Zealand leadership structure is as follows:

Chief Executive

CE Rhys Jones

Rhys Jones

Strategic Leadership Team

Director Office of the Chief Executive

Chief Financial Officer

Integration Director

Director People & Capability

Bella Sutherland

Bella Sutherland

Brett Warwick

Brett Warwick

Janine McLees

Janine McLees

Brendan Nally


Director Training

National Commander Urban


Director ICT 

 Wayne Mackey

Wayne Mackey

Paul McGill

Paul McGill

Kevin O'Connor

Kevin O'Connor

Murray Mitchell

Murray Mitchell


The Chief Executive reports to the Chairman of the Fire and Emergency New Zealand Board.

Our Board

The Board of Fire and Emergency New Zealand is appointed by the Minister of Internal Affairs. Terms of appointment are usually for 3 years and members are eligible for reappointment.

The current members of the Board are:

Hon Paul Swain (Chair)

Paul was appointed to the New Zealand Fire Service Commission Board for a 3 year term in April 2016 after leading the independent review of the Fire Service in 2012, which resulted in a call for reform.

His political career has spanned some 15 years. During this time he has held a number of ministerial portfolios including state-owned enterprises, corrections and immigration. He was a negotiator in Waitangi settlements, and holds a seat on the Wellington Regional Council.

Paul was made a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order in 2009.

Dr Nicola Crauford (Deputy Chair)

Nicola was appointed as the Board’s Deputy Chair in April 2016. She has a wealth of governance experience, including a sound understanding of rural fire gained during her time as Chair of the Wellington Rural Fire Authority.

Te Arohanui Cook

First appointed to the Board in April 2016, Te Arohanui has had significant engagement with rural fire, at both an operational level and through her involvement in rural fire training.

Peter Drummond MNZM

First appointed to the Board in April 2016, Peter has an extensive background in governance and leadership. As a former Chair of the United Fire Brigades Association, Peter has an in-depth understanding of volunteers and the role they play in fire services.

Wendie Harvey

Wendie was appointed to the Board on 1 July 2018 for a three year term. She holds a number of senior governance roles including being the Director of the Hawkes Bay Airport,  Director of Centralines, Director of Napier Port Limited, Director of Quality Roading and Services Limited and a Director of Etco.  Wendie has extensive experience in state sector governance, organisational change, employment relations, and risk management.  She is also a Council Member of the Eastern Institute of Technology. 

Malcolm Inglis

Malcolm was appointed to the Board on 1 July 2018 for a three year term.  He is a Chartered Accountant with significant experience in the state sector including large scale organisational and sector change.  He has held a number of governance roles on Crown Entity Boards and Councils.