2019 New Year Honours

Please join me in congratulating the following personnel who have been recognised with Queen’s Service Medals in the 2019 New Year Honours List, for services to Fire and Emergency New Zealand and the community. Every year, the Queen recognises citizens from Commonwealth countries for their exceptional service, and firefighters are regularly honoured.


Warwick Brooks

Warwick was a member of the Tairua Volunteer Fire Brigade from 1969 to 2001, holding the roles of Chief Fire Officer (1979-2001), and Treasurer (2003-2013). He was appointed Patron in 2018. He also served as Chief Fire Officer of the Pauanui Auxiliary Fire Brigade, been a member of Tairua-Pauanui RSA (currently Vice President) and the Tairua-Pauanui Community Board.


Mark Buckley

Mark has been a member of the Lyttelton Volunteer Fire Brigade since 1987, rising to the rank of Chief Fire Officer in 2006. He provided significant support to both the Brigade and wider Lyttelton community following the 2011 Christchurch earthquake, and led the response to the Port Hill fires in 2017. He was awarded the Kiwibank Local Hero Award in 2017.


Graeme Hoole

Graeme was a member of the Putaruru Volunteer Fire Brigade from 1976 to 2016, and Chief Fire Officer from 2000 to 2016. He has been involved with Bay Waikato Regional Operations committee, the Auckland Provincial Sub Association, and Health and Safety committees at Regional, Area and Brigade levels. Within the wider community he has been involved with bowls at club and regional levels. Graeme was awarded the Kiwibank Local Hero Award in 2015.


William McLachlan

William has been a member of the Wallacetown Volunteer Fire Brigade since its inception in 1977, including the past 18 years as Chief Fire Officer. He is a Life Member of the Brigade. He has been training officer for the Alliance Lorneville Fire Rescue Squad since 2012. He is also Past President of the Western Southland Fire Brigade Sub Association (2012-2013) and a past member of the Wallacetown Community Fundraising Committee (1988-2002).


Jamie Simpson

Jamie has been a member of the Te Karaka Volunteer Fire Brigade since 1982, including Chief Fire Officer for the last 17 years. He was a member of the NZFS Region Operations Committee (Region Two) and the NZFS National Operations and Strategy Committee, and Past President and Chair of the East Coast Sub Association of the United Fire Brigades Association. Jamie’s community involvement includes the Tairawhiti Area Chief Fire Officers Group, Te Karaka Ambulance Committee, and Gisborne Speedway Club.


Congratulations to all our deserving recipients. It’s fantastic to see your hard work, dedication and achievements recognised in this way. You have all made a real difference to both Fire and Emergency NZ and the lives of people in your communities. Your efforts help to reinforce the high regard that our firefighters are held in by all New Zealanders.