Northland Local Advisory Committee

Northland Local Advisory Committee - mihi mai rā.


Read more about the members of the Northland Local Advisory Committee.


Gordon is a sixth-generation Northlander who lives in rural Kaipara and runs an architectural design practice in Dargaville, designing homes throughout Northland. Prior, he served for 27 years in the NZ Police. Gordon is on the Kaipara District Council Licencing Committee and represents Kaipara on the Northland Automobile Association. He is a director of a commercial property portfolio and a member of the Northland Property Investors' Association.
MITA HARRIS (Deputy Chair)
Mita works for the Ministry for Primary Industries, as National Manager Operations for the Ministry’s Kauri Dieback Programme. He was previously Director of Māori Heritage at Pouhere Taonga Heritage New Zealand. Mita has held governance roles as Chair of the Northland Conservation Board and member of the New Zealand Conservation Authority and served on the Northern Rural Fire Committee in the Far North. He is a Trustee of the Waitangi National Trust Board.
Sarah is the Emergency and Corporate Risk Manager for Northland District Health Board. She has 30 years’ experience working in health organisations and coordinating national cross-agency health initiatives. She is the local Chair for Dress for Success.

Karen is a second term Councillor with Kaipara District Council and has 20 years public service experience working for local and central government. She is also a Justice of the Peace and Marriage Celebrant. Karen’s aspiration in life is to work for our community, whānau, hapū and iwi to ensure people have access to the services, advice and support they need to help improve their lives. “Naku te rourou, nau te rourou, ka ora ai te iwi - With your basket and my basket the people will thrive”.


Ken has a background in the construction and civil engineering industries and is currently on the board of the New Zealand Transport Agency. He is also an appointed Trustee of Top Energy Ltd and a previous Chair of the Northern Rural Fire Authority Board and the Youth Development Trust.


Rolien is a Strategic Projects Manager for the Department of Conservation (DOC) in Northland. She has had a long career in government and was previously Director / Deputy Chair on the Northern Rural Fire Authority Board.
Colin is a Northland Regional Councillor and Chairperson of the Audit and Risk Committee. Other current governance roles include membership of Te Oneroa a Tōhē (Ninety Mile) Beach Board, Vice Chair of Volunteering Northland and the Far North (Kaitaia) Returned Services Association. Colin was a Volunteer Support with the New Zealand Fire Service for two decades and is a member of the Volunteer Fire Brigade with 50 plus years’ service to date.

The map below shows the area that the Northland Local Advisory Committee covers (shown in dark blue).